Object Code: 44827 (22) Photograph Quantity: 1.00 Cultural Association: Maker: Production Place:

Description:

The Parliament Collection:

Group photograph of King George VI and the members of his South African Cabinet in 1947. Beneath the photo are the signatures of some of the men in the photo. Front row seated I to r: The Hon James Wellwood Mushet (Posts & Telegraphs, Public Works); the Hon Frederick Claud Sturrock (Transport); Field-Marshal the Rt Hon Jan Christiaan Smuts (Prime Minister); His Majesty King George VI; the Rt Hon Jan Hendrik Hofmeyr (Education, Finance); the Hon Harry Gordon Lawrence (Social Welfare & Demobilisation, Justice); the Hon Maj Andrew Meintjes Conroy (Lands). Back row standing I to r: Dr the Hon Colin Fraser Steyn (Labour); the Hon Sidney Frank Waterson (Economic Development, Mines); Maj the Hon Pieter Voltelyn Graham Van der Byl (Native Affairs); the Hon Jacobus Gideon Nel Strauss (Agriculture & Forestry); Dr the Hon Henry Gluckman (Health). Cabinet member absent from photo: Sen Charles Francis Clarkson (Interior). (Part of a scrapbook, see 44827)

Provenance:

Unknown